Car Care Clinic 111 Sports & Saloons head for Midvaal

After the opening round things are tight at the top of the 2019 Car Care Clinic 111 Sports & Saloons championship table. Seven drivers are within four points of each other and they will all be trying to eke out an advantage over their rivals when they make their way to Midvaal Raceway in Meyerton for the second round of their championship on Saturday, 13 April.

Wouter Roos (Nathan’s Motorsport VW Golf), who won both heats at the first round, will be looking to repeat the feat but should face competition from George Economides (Wealth Avenue BMW 328i) and Kevin Miller (Ford Focus). Both Danie Deysel (Tyre City Honda CRX) and Dirk Lawrence (JDM Tuning/Vaal Timber Honda Ballade) move to Class A for this round after starting the season in Class X and could also run Roos close. Defending champion George Bezuidenhout looks like he will miss this round as he is still waiting for spares to repair the damage caused to his Accolade/CES Forklift Nissan Primera at the opening event.

Wayne Masters
Wayne Masters at Zwartkops

Wayne Masters (Performance Masters Polo) won both Class B heats from Louis Scholtz (Car Care Clinic Honda Ballade) at Zwartkops and the pair are again likely to be at the head of the field at Midvaal. Bertus van Jaarsveld (Photizo VW Polo) joins the Class B brigade and, based on his times at Zwartkops, could run near the head of the field. A number of Class B drivers had a weekend to forget at the season opener and will be looking for a better performance at round 2. They include Phillip Meyer (LSC Group/Imperial Logistics Porsche 924), Mark Ellis (Porsche 924), Paul Saayman (Auto Movers VW Caddy) and Wayne Lebotschy (Shield Golf).

Class C could go the way of Zwartkops winner Lenard Archer in the ACD Welkom Hyundai Accent with Michael Frade likely to be one of the front runners in Class D in the Auto Aircon Ford Icon.

Mark Gregory

Class E should again be a battle of the Golfs with Mark Gregory, Marius Lotz and Mark Kingsmill battling each other for the wins.

Qualifying gets underway at 08h20 on Saturday morning with the opening 10-lap race at 10h40. The second race, also a 10-lap affair, should get underway at 13h10.