Huge Car Care Clinic 111 Sports & Saloons field for Zwartkops

Almost 40 drivers have indicated their intention to battle it out in the third round of the 2020 Car Care Clinic 111 and GT Sports & Saloons championships at Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday, 12 September.

Bob Neill
Bob Neill leads the way at Zwartkops

Bob Neill (Delmon Mining Ford Focus) won both heats in the GT Sports & Saloons category when racing resumed after the Covid-19 enforced break. His main competition is likely to come from Wouter Roos (Car Care Clinic VW Golf) and Lenard Archer (ACD Hyundai i20) although Andre de Lange (Roofsure Ford Focus), Louis Scholtz (Car Care Clinic VW Golf), Mark du Toit (Trans Africa Racing BMW Z4) and Johan van der Vyver (Devlaw Subaru WRX STi) could also be in the action. Graeme Nathan (VW Polo) and Ian Ehlers (FEC Auto & Race VW Polo) will also be mounting a challenge.

There should be plenty of action in Class A at the front of the 111 Sports & Saloons category. Gerhard Henning (Car Care Clinic VW Golf) won both heats last time out but will face some stiff competition this time around. Piet Potgieter (Nathan’s Motorsport VW Golf), Mark Harvey (Adapt Design & Sign Porsche 924), Waldo Swiegers (Waldo Swiegers Photography Honda Ballade), George Economides (Wealth Avenue BMW 328i) and Phillip Meyer (PPLE Group Porsche 924 GTR) should all be in the fight for podium places. Lucas Bezuidenhout (Pretoria Noord Toyota Lexus), Ismail Peck (National Motorsport Mzanzi Honda), Floris Stopforth (VW Polo) and Andre Diedericks (Elf Trans Mini) will all be in action as well.

Four weeks ago Adrian Dalton (Xtra Clothing and Shoes VW Golf) had things pretty much his own way at the front of Class B but Paul Saayman (Freight X VW Caddy) will be out to prevent that happening again while Joshua Weyers (Rohlig Grindrod Opel Corsa), Johan van Heerden (JVH Performance/Bon Appetit VW Polo), Louwkie Verwey (Elf Trans VW Golf) and Gerhard Potgieter (Signarame Northern Pretoria VW Golf) will fight for Class C honours.

Reno van Heerden (VW Polo) will be joined by Riaan Draper (Auto Classic/Blessed Wheels Ford Icon), Yorick Smith (Phoenix Auto Spares Mazda MX5) and Pieter Kirkhoff (Lombard Tyres/Roofsure) in Class D.

Mark Gregory (Creative Patterns) and Mark Kingsmill (Team Gregory Racing/Creative Patterns) are again likely to be near the front of Class E. They will have Brian White (TAE Auto Toyota) for company.

Class X, for newcomers to the series, will feature Pieter Vermeulen (Universal Healthcare VW Polo), Marius Jackson (Megafibre Audi TT) and Rohan Ehlers (FEC Auto & Race VW Golf) among others.

With stringent Covid-19 protocols in place, no spectators will be allowed at Zawrtkops Raceway for the event.